top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristos Serrano

MY PHOTOGRAPHY START

Tell us something about you (where was you born, where do you live, what’s your basic occupation, what other passions you have except photography, … and any other things you believe there are relevant)


Please answer us to the next questions:


1. When (at what age) was your beginning in photography and what determined you to do this?

2. Tell us the most important steps you made in photography.

3. What photo equipment do you use?

4. More and more people nowadays use phone for shooting pictures. What’s your opinion on this subject?

5. What is more important for a “wow” picture? Equipment or “photographer’s eye”?

6. What is/are your favorite/s photo genre/s (domain/s)?

7. Does your life partner share with you your passion for photography?

8. Photography is for you a job or just a hobby?

9. What is your opinion about post-processing images?

10.Tell us the most funny moment that happened to you during taking pictures.

11. What is your dream about your career as a photographer?

12. Tell us your motto in photography


I was born In Limassol, Cyprus and still live here after studying and living in Kharkov, Ukraine for 7 years! I am 34 years old and my main occupation is Latin Dance Instructor and Trainer! So my main passions in life are Dancing, Photography and Sports! About photography then: My first contact with photography was from my father who used to take photos of me and my friends at Academic Rowing sport events and competitions when I was young with his Zenit camera and a massive 300mm f4.5 sniper lens that stayed in my memory cos I was so mesmerized by the capabilities and results of that combo back then, 20+ years ago! And that was the first memory. The second one was when I was studying and one friend of mine got a Nikon d3s (I think it was) and I was shocked by the quality and the technology of it. So I said to my self that when I can afford a camera I would also get one because I love capturing moments of life and telling a story with LIGHT! P.S I also love technology a lot and that's another aspect of why I love cameras and what they offer technology wise! Many years have passed after all that and I then got my first camera and have entered the photography realm 5 years ago! I was determined then (at that point of time) that I could make the same and even better photos than the ones I see out there... I know it sounds cheesy but that is what I felt, and that is because I believe that if anyone puts his everything into something then you can achieve anything! Anyway I was also sure that I could understand photography because of my artistic background that I had in performing arts that started from age 5, and in my 3 year architectural studies in a technical school here in Cyprus and the fact that I used to go to painting classes in young age!

1. So I was 29 when I first bought my first camera and started photography without any photographic knowledge whatsoever! And I was determined to do so cos I wanted to show people what my eyes see, how I see the world from my perspective, the same way I show and "speak" and communicate to people through my dancing!

2. The most important step was when I actually went and got my 1st camera without any lens, just the body (more details on that later...)! After that was the fact I put the dial on M with Raw from the beginning and telling to my self LEARN no matter what! Just go out and shoot!

3. Ok so this is very interesting subject for me and the story of it! Through the years the only cameras I knew of or where most popular where the Nikons and Canons mostly! I wanted to buy I think a Nikon d3300 I think back then with a kit lens obviously and used to watch and read all kinds of reviews, until I got into an article explaining the new "kid" on the block (Sony) with their new technology mirrorless cameras that have been out some years but still in an early stage! So I really got intrigued by it cos was trying to find the best camera suited for my needs and believe me, I've looked and learn for almost one year of research all cameras and lenses and what they do even before I got my hands on one! I even learned about Hasselblad and Phase one at that time and some photographers I know they don't know about them!!!! Anyway I just wanted the best thing for my money! Needless to say when I learned and saw the potential of Sony's new mirrorless system I just had to get my hands on one! Lucky me while my research I learned that I can adapt any kind of lens I want on those mirrorless bodies and that was I think on of the biggest factors that sold me to that system! I then remembered all the vintage lenses my father had and I wanted to bring life back to them and memories to me! I then got me Sony a6000 that is a crop sensor or apsc camera and adapted all the lenses I had! P.S I used that camera for everything...! I still have it and use it till this day but only for macro shots and some telephoto work because of the very useful 1.5x crop factor! Then years pass and I got my first full frame camera Sony a7 then a7ii and the last one a7iii that I just adore!!!!! I used to use only manual vintage lenses until last year almost when I got my first auto lens the 24-70 f2.8 for Sony then then 85 f1.8 and then the last and maybe favorite lens the 100-400 f4.5-5.6. The point is at this point I manages to gather 30 manual vintage lenses and some other newer manual only lenses and 3 native Sony lenses! I also have a dancing studio that I use and convert to a photo studio when I need it and have strobes and diffusers, I now own a lot of equipment I think for a person that started 5 years ago and knowing nothing about the subject!

4. I remember when the first digital point and shoot cameras came out.... I think it was the same situation for those who where using SLR's and after DSLR's! Now that I think about it... it was the same when DSLR's came out in comparison to SLR's and before those medium format and bigger formats! The only difference is that now smartphones are technological marvels year by year and it is scary what you can achieve! Evolution is there and it will be there like it always was! I am just embracing it fully! I also have a phone and take pictures with it! Like many others say the best camera is the camera you have with you! Needless to say that for professional work you need proper equipment and knowledge on specific subject, that is why all these cost so much! Phone photography is good in general to have for everyday life and social media!

5. This is a good one! Photographer's eye for me it's the most important out of everything! You can take a WOW picture with your phone or a point and shoot camera if you have the "eye"!!! I you have the equipment then it's a bonus ;-)

6. True Macro, Wildlife, Portraits, Street Photography, Astrophotography (still need some equipment), Nude/Boudoir, Landscapes, Studio photography, Long Exposure, Sports/Action and Portfolios for models/Fashion... I think that's all.

7. She does really love and appreciate the outcome of my photography but she had never showed interest in photography as taking photos like I do, so I tried to show her! She is a natural talent with the "eye" and did enjoy those few time I showed her how to shoot but still she doesn't really want to shoot unfortunately! So partly she does and she doesn't.

8. Actually it started as a hobby with the idea subconsciously that one day it will become also a job! And this is what it is! Everything I shoot is for me and everyone else, so my hobby and passion from day one! Also 2 years now I have different kinds of jobs here and there!

9. Oh this is a tricky one!!! I am not against post-processing as I do it all the time!!! It's what people do with it that bothers me! I always try to make the picture perfect from camera and that was the reason of my Manual lens + M mode + Raw from the beginning, to learn to use the camera in its full potential and actually learn how to manipulate light! I also do use post-processing but I have my own boundaries! I just hate seeing unnatural photos and not real like! I actually don't like the fact that already on a PC you can take a shitty photo and make it look amazing in photoshop lets say! This makes some photographers not care about their settings with the idea that they will fix everything after! Photography was is and will be also about the technical stuff as well as the artistic part! I always say learn your camera equipment well and then go create art freely! Don't just rely on software. Having said that post-processing is very useful and can add to your creativity! Just not the misuse of it!

10. Nothing funny happened until now LOL

11. My dream is to have the ability and energy to never stop evolving in photography and become better and better at it! Also to have my own exhibition one day and show/share to people my work/passion internationally!

12. My motto not only in photography but for everything in life that I do is: Nothing is Impossible!!!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page